Ideally, idly.

So our Blogging 101 task is to write a post to our ideal audience. This got me thinking, who is my ideal audience? I was going to post to The Commons, but this stream-of-conscious is going to take longer than a few sentences. Time for a separate post!

I started this blog because I wanted to review books and get approved more frequently on NetGalley. But I find I actually really like writing these posts for more than reviews. Books are such a wonderful medium for telling the human experience. While not every book is every experience (hello, Star Wars), they can come to represent our hopes, dreams and fears. So while I do write about books, I am also writing about my personal experience. I get a chance to voice my opinion about what is happening in our world.

I freely admit that I largely read romance novels–this includes erotica. I quickly follow that with a heavy influence of young adult. Occasionally I will throw in a non-fiction (usually self-help/religion-type) or a more “literary” novel. But romance has been my bread-and-butter since I was in middle school.

I started with teen, historical romance novels. I moved to romance novels in high school. I had a close friend who enjoyed romance novels with me. We bonded the summer before 11th grade when we would ride our bikes to the library to get new romance novels to read or we would raid her mother’s books in the basement. But this was not something I discussed openly with my other friends. They enjoyed “literature.”

I actually started holding my preferred book choices to myself since 7th grade. I mentioned to my seventh grade social studies teacher that I learned about Francis Marion, aka the Swamp Fox, after I read a romance novel. He got this strange look, a kind of “that’s a stupid thing to read; why the hell would you read that drivel?” that stung my poor preteen heart. My one friend actually curled her nose up at my book choices. She read literature, loved Jane Austen. I was so just sooo…plebian (a word I had to learn because I read a romance novel).

So I kind of want this blog to be a big “Fuck you!!” to all of those haters. I’m going to write about books that I like, and hope to get others to like. Or to validate book choices for other people. I want to write about the Big Issues that romance novels (and the other books that I enjoy) reveal. Romance novels focus on relationships (Romance Writers of America):

Two basic elements comprise every romance novel: a central love story and an emotionally satisfying and optimistic ending.

A Central Love Story: The main plot centers around individuals falling in love and struggling to make the relationship work. A writer can include as many subplots as he/she wants as long as the love story is the main focus of the novel.

An Emotionally Satisfying and Optimistic Ending: In a romance, the lovers who risk and struggle for each other and their relationship are rewarded with emotional justice and unconditional love. ,

Don’t we define ourselves and others by our relationships? And it’s not romantic relationships that develop in romance novels. We see growth of friendship, personal growth and so much more!

Anywho, that leads me back to, who is my audience? How do I separate myself from other review blogs/websites of romance? My name is “Librarian on the Loose” so how do incorporate that viewpoint? Am I trying to make it too broad?

Citation:
“About the Romance Genre.” MyRWA : The Romance Genre :. Romance Writers of America, n.d. Web. 05 Feb. 2015.

2 thoughts on “Ideally, idly.

  1. I am a fellow romance lover! Also since high school. And for everyone that says “ewwwww, romance” I point out that the books I read bear a remarkably resemblance to most movies. Seriously, how many movies–action, dramatic, comedy–do not have a boy gets girl moment at the end? And why the heck isn’t the drivel N Sparks’ writes in the romance section? I digress: I feel your pain! And I also have recently decided to come out of the romance closet as well. Thanks for the encouragement.
    https://samanthamacmaster.wordpress.com/

    Like

  2. Hi there Librarian. I like the way you have identified what you really like, and not be intimidated by others who don’t share your choice of genres. Librarian on the loose is a fun, catchy name, but as you said, I wonder if it’s too broad if you are only or mainly going to focus on romance novels. When I see that name I think of a wide variety of genres, and people who do might be disappointed, but maybe more importantly people who really love romance novels might skip right over your blog because the name isn’t specific enough. That said, I don’t have a better suggestion. Maybe no change there, but something more specific about romance in the tagline? Just a suggestion. Good luck with your blogging!
    -Mary

    Like

Leave a Reply

