It’s sad when I get the same information from a .jpeg…review of “Nikola Tesla” by Sean Patrick

I originally saw this “photo strip” biography of Nikola Tesla on Facebook. Or one similar to it. But it is really hard to re-find the “photo-strip” biography when you don’t know the best keywords, who had posted it or what day you saw it. It has taken me 2 weeks to find it.

Awesome intro to Nikola Tesla.

He just sounds like a righteous dude! 

It is a little sad that the introductions I had to Nikola Tesla were through Eureka (awesome SyFy TV Show) and Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld. I couldn’t honestly tell you if he was a real person before I read this biography. And that is sad. He truly was an amazing genius. Imagine what he could do now!

So, obviously, I wanted to learn more. Went searching in iBooks store and found Nikola Tesla: Imagination and the Man that Invented the 20th Century by Sean Patrick. It was free; I was stoked. It wasn’t a very long book, 67 pages of actual text (a few more pages of self-promotion at the end rounds out the number to 78), but I find that I have grown to like the elementary-style biographies. A little simplistic, maybe, but they give all the information in a mostly-unbiased way and it’s somewhat interesting. It is not an elementary-style biography.

First, there is a prologue that lasts almost 20 pages! And the prologue has nothing to do with Nikola Tesla, specifically. It is all about genius and how we are to harness our own genius. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed almost every single one of those 17 pages. Patrick has a wonderful writing style, like a televangelist. You want to start praising genius and get really excited about maybe learning to be one. But at some point it I started to wonder, “When is the biography going to start?”

We finally get to first chapter and start to learn about Tesla. Still in televangelist mode, but a trifle more pedantic, Patrick weaves the story of Tesla’s life. And it is interesting. I even really like the Patrick’s thesis that we can learn from Tesla, and how he used his imagination, to become a genius. But the .jpeg above shared the same information as the book; the book is more detailed, but seems to follow the basic outline. 

At the end of the book, Patrick discusses his book Awakening Your Inner Genius. It follows the same premise of the book: geniuses aren’t just super-smart; they had skills they developed. Like Nikola Tesla and imagination. Nikola Tesla: Imagination and the Man who Invented the 20th Century is merely a teaser to get you to buy the big “life-changing” book.

Some of you may be wondering…Well, did you read the book summay? Here is the basic blurb from iBooks:

If you want to learn about one of history’s most fascinating minds and uncover some of his secrets of imagination–secrets taht enabled him to invent machines light years ahead of his time and literally bring light to the world–then you want to read this book.

Now that I have read the book, I feel I should have known it wasn’t so much a biography as a sales pitch. And it was a free book, so complaining seems a bit cheesy. I just wish that there had been a clearly labeled footnote or a series annotation that let me know what the book was really about. I expected an exploration of imagination, but I expected the book to be less about how I can use my imagination and more about Tesla.

Overall rating: Meh.

Leave a Reply

